King George VI – New Zealand The Half Penny Issues & Postal Rates

A Study Paper

Appendix 2 British Countries, Protectorates & Mandated Territories



by

Stephen F. Prest & Patrick J. Skinner

February 2010

Appendix 2

British Countries, Protectorates & Mandated Territories

(as per New Zealand Post & Telegraph Department Guide - June 1937)

Aden		Gibraltar	Pacific Islands (British)*****
Ascension		Gold Coast	Palestine
Australia*		Great Britain	Papua
British Guiana		Hong Kong	Rhodesia
British Honduras		India***	St. Helena *****
British Somaliland		Irish Free State (Eire)	Sarawak
British West Indies**		Kenya and Uganda	Seychelles
Brunei		Malaya****	Sierra Leone
Cameroon (British Sphere)		Malta	South Africa******
Canada		Mauritius	Sudan (Anglo-Egyptian)
Ceylon		Newfoundland	Tanganyika Terriory
Cyprus		New Guinea	Togoland (British)
Egypt		New Hebrides	Tonga
Falkland Islands		Nigeria	Trans-Jordan
Fiji		Nyasaland	Zanzibar
Gambia			
The following additional notes apply to the British Countries list appearing in the June 1937 Guide:			
*	Australia	Lord Howe Island, Nauru, Norfolk Island	
**	British West Indies	Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Jamaica, Leeward Islands (Antigua, Dominica, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Kitts, Tortola & British Virgin Islands), Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands and Windward Islands (Grenada, St. Lucia and St. Vincent)	
***	India	Bahrein (Persian Gulf), Burma, Muscat & Oman	
****	Malaya	 (1) Straits Settlements: Malacca, Penang (Province Wellesley), Singapore (Labuan, Christmas Island, and Cocos Islands (2) Federated Malay States: Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Selangor (3) Un-Federated Malay States: Johore, Kelantan, Kedah, Perlis Trenganu 	
****	Pacific Islands (Br)	Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Ocean Island, Pitcairn Island, Solomon Islands	
*****	St. Helena	Ascension, Tristan da Cunha	
*****	South Africa	Basutoland, Bechuanaland, Bechuanaland Protectorate, Rhodesia (Northern and Southern), South West Africa, Swaziland, Union of South Africa and Walvis Bay	

The following were treated as "Inland" destinations in the June 1937 Guide:

New Zealand Cook Islands, Fanning Island, Niue, Pitcairn Island, Tokelau Group, Western Samoa,

Changes to the British countries listings

July 26, 1938 (P&T Official Circular August 16, 1938)

The new "All-up" Empire Air Mail Service rate of 1¹/₂d. per ¹/₂ oz. applied to all British countries with the exception of Australia and New Guinea but included Egypt and Iraq for Letters. Existing Empire rates to Australia and New Guinea remained in force. Inland rates for New Zealand and dependencies remained in force.

1939 Post & Telegraph Department Guide (Correct to June 1, 1939)

No change from July 26, 1938 status

Appendix 2 *(cont'd)* British Countries, Protectorates & Mandated Territories

October 1, 1939 (P&T Official Circular October 16, 1939)

No change from 1937 British countries listing. The new Empire Letter rate of 2d. first per $\frac{1}{2}$ oz., 1d each additional half oz. applied to all British countries including Australia, New Guinea and also Egypt and Iraq. Egypt and Iraq were classified as Overseas destinations for Newspapers.

1944 Post & Telegraph Department Guide (Correct to September 1, 1944)

No change from October 1, 1939 status. However mail to British North Borneo, Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaya and Sarawak are noted as "Service Suspended".

1948 Post & Telegraph Department Guide (Correct to July 1, 1948)

Deletions from the 1937 Listing,

Brunei and Sarawak (presumably both included as part of Malaya Federation Listing as Empire rates still applied to these two destinations)

July 8, 1948 (P&T Official Circular August 2, 1948)

The 1939 Empire Letter rate of 2d. first per ounce, 1d each additional ounce retained for all British countries. Foreign countries now included Egypt, Palestine, Transjordan, Iraq and Burma.

1954 Post & Telegraph Department Guide (Correct to July 1954)

Deletions from the 1937 listing:

Newfoundland (included in Canada as of 1949) Burma, Palestine, and Transjordan (deleted in 1948)

Additions to the 1937 Listing:

Bermuda (formerly included in the British West Indies) Basutoland, Bechuanaland and Swaziland (formerly included in the South Africa listing) Gilbert & Ellice Islands, Pitcairn Island & Br. Solomon Islands (formerly grouped as Pacific Islands Br.) Pakistan (formerly included in India) Singapore (formerly included in Malaya)

Reinstatements to the 1937 Listing (previously omitted in 1948 listing):

Brunei, Sarawak